Delhi Today

Sharing is caring!

Today Delhi is a very famous metropolitan city in the world. Delhi is a city of India, where there is a confluence of ancient and modernity. This city keeps the history of five thousand years old. Officially Delhi is a National Capital Territory (NCT). As a union territory, the political administration of the NCT of Delhi today more closely resembles that of a state of India, with its own legislature, high court and an executive council of ministers headed by a Chief Minister.

New Delhi is jointly administered by the federal government of India and the local government of Delhi and is the capital of the NCT of Delhi. This city has both Parliament and Legislative Assembly. New Delhi is the capital of the country. Being the national capital, the three unit’s executive council, parliament and judiciary of the Central Government are located here.

Delhi is connected to Haryana from three sides and from the eastern side it is connected to Uttar Pradesh. Area of National Capital Region is 1,484 square kilometers. According to the 2011 census, the population here is 11 million, which is the highest in the country after Mumbai. In fact, around 16.8 million people live in this entire area.

If the surrounding areas of the National Capital Region are merged, the population here is close to 26 million, which is the second largest urban area in the world. After Mumbai, it is the second most prosperous city in India.

Delhi got the chance to organize the first Asian Games in 1951. The ninth Asian Games were held in Delhi in 1982. It had organized the Non-Align Summit in 1983. The Men’s Hockey World Cup and the Commonwealth Games had organized in 2010. Delhi was the main host country of the World Cup Cricket in 2011. There was held a BRICS summit in 2012.

Being the National Capital Region, Delhi is a multi-cultural city. Here people of almost every part of the country live. A lot of people of North India and Punjab are lived in Delhi. The presence of people of South India and Northeast states is also good here. In the Chittaranjan Park area of Delhi, so many Bengali people live, so this area is called Mini Kolkata. People come in Delhi from every corner of the country for education and employment.

From geographically, Delhi is a flat area. Yamuna River flows in the eastern part of the city. In the west, there is a small chain of small hills of Aravali Mountain.

New Delhi

New Delhi is the capital of India. This region is developed by British one century ago. The British had transferred their capital from Kolkata to Delhi. Rashtrapati Bhavan, Parliament, and houses and offices of Prime Minister and Union Ministers are situated here. Most of the city’s most luxurious hotels are in this area. The UNESCO’s World Heritage ‘Humayun’s Tomb’ is situated in this area.

Southern Delhi

Southern Delhi is a very rich area. There are many advanced hotels and many shopping malls. In India, the Islamic invaders first made their capital here. Here is the UNESCO World Heritage Site ‘Qutub Minar’.

Old Delhi

The old Delhi is located on the west coast of Yamuna. This area is thousands of years before Christ. This densely populated area was the capital of the Mughal Empire. UNESCO’s World Heritage ‘Red Fort’ is located in this area.

North Delhi

This area is located in the north of Old Delhi. There are many other British buildings made in this area. Refugees take of Tibet had sheltered in Majnu’s Tila area.

Quick Facts

Area: 1, 484 square kilometers

Population: 11 million (according to 2011 census)

Language: Hindi, Urdu, Punjabi, English

Religion: Hindu 82.7%, Muslim 10%, Sikh 5%, Jain 1.1%, others 1.2%

Currency: Indian Rupee (INR)

State Animal: Nilgai

State Bird: House Sparrow

Sharing is caring!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *